Now you can “Undo Send” with Gmail

“Gmail is a free, advertising-supported email service provided by Google” (Wikipedia). Now that we’re done with the definition of Gmail for those who were not familiar – if there were any of those in the first place – let’s move deeper with Gmail’s new feature.

Ever regretted sending an email but not until it was too late? Well now Gmail, provides its users with an option used “Undo Send” which in case you didn’t get it already, it does exactly what says.

According to Google’s official statements concerning that new feature, if you ever made a spelling mistake while typing a long text, or regretted sending a mail, you can undo it all by activating the “Undo Send”. That option lets you repeal an email that you just sent.

To activate the “Undo Send” feature, all you have to do is click that little gear at the top right corner and choose Settings. Scroll down until you find the “Undo Send” option and then click “Activate”. Set the cancellation period (the time period that you’ll have to decide whether you want to cancel the sending or not). Finally, once you’re all done with the choices, choose save changes at the bottom of the page.

The said was available through the Gmail Labs, but now it is available for every subscriber of Google’s email service. The user of Gmail has now the ability to cancel any email that he/she sends in a time period that ranges from 5 to 30 seconds (depending on the settings you changed if you followed the instructions above).

Undoubtedly this is a positive and pretty helpful addition to Gmail that will make its use easier and safer. It is one of those little unnoticeable modifications that does no harm. And yet it gives to Gmail a slight advantage against other popular email services.

 

Tags: