Wi-Fi Sense: Why it’s there and how to deactivate it

It’s not been that long since Windows 10 was officially released. There are still many who have not upgraded their computers. So it only makes sense that we all still have some questions about Microsoft’s newest and last operating system.

Windows 10, on its default options, have the Wi-Fi Sense activated, but there is a way to get rid of it. For those of you who are not familiar with the term above, the Wi-Fi Sense, is a feature that was originally built for Windows Phone 8.1 and has passed to computers with Windows 10. It allows to share Wi Fi network access with contacts from Outlook, Skype and Facebook. So the general concept behind this feature is that with it, you’ll be able to connect and communicate with your contacts from any computer, even when you’re not home. All you need is a Wi Fi that can be shared with you.

While Microsoft supports that its hope was to establish easy access to a mutual network, the truth is that there are many security issues that make the daily use of such a feature quite risky.

Wi Fi Sense sends an encrypted message with the password of your network to Microsoft’s servers and from there, the encrypted password is sent to a device that the Wi Fi Sense feature activated and also belongs to your contact list. In case that one of your contacts wants to share the password with its own contacts, having the feature activated is not enough. They will also need to know the actual password. So it’s easy to understand the risk of someone outside of your contact list getting his hands on your encrypted password. Who’s to say that it will stay encrypted after that?

In other words, it is arguable whether the Wi Fi Sense is a delightful and positive addition to Windows 10 or if the certain feature is going to cause more trouble than it could solve. For the users who don’t like the Wi Fi sense feature, a simple and fast solution is to add “_output” to the name of your network.

If you want the full solution then you’ll have to deactivate the feature. To do that, go to the “Settings”, choose “Wi-Fi” under “Network & Internet” and then go to “Manage Wi-Fi settings”. From there you’ll see all the management options of your computer’s wireless connections so you’ll also be able to turn the said option off.